A module Corruption System

Hello, I am Sir_Mathis_Kyngston. I am posting this topic to inspire some creator to come up with
add on to the Neverwinter Nights 2 Packer utility program. The NWN packer 2 works great on repairing
corrupted modules,by picking and choosing bad files in a module. We need a utility that scans each file
and fixes the damage files. Either it can scan .erf, mod, and delete the damage file by the file not
responding to opening up command. So, the program needs to be able to scan all of the Module files and
troubleshoot the problem. I am little UN-knowledgeable on the inner workings of a utility program and
would love some guides and help.To guide me on software programing or become a self-taught
programmer.

If anybody needs help with the project. I have some advanced amount of detail I could share, but this
is a general inspiration for other Neverwinter night 2 players. I am new at compression and
decompression utility tools / programs. Best regards Sir_Kyngston.

I suggested something like that for Xoreos-Tools, but I fear it would require a significant amount of work to fully implement. You would need to be able to check each file type and variant in the game and know when something isn’t correct.

But possibly a simple tool could be built that just does some basic checking of each file type in the archive? At least for an initial version.

The existing tools can do a pretty good job of dumping the known file types so you know what to check for.

2 Likes

I just modified a bit my ERF tool to allow recovering as much data as possible from a truncated ERF file. It will extract files when possible, print messages for missing files, and create a .part file if a file is incomplete.

It’s a command line tool, so you’ll be forced to use either the command-line, or create a bat file on windows. Usage is nwn-erf extract --recover yourfile.erf -o output_dir