Help with Weapon Script

Sorry If I’m being a pain and going about this the wrong way, I’ve never used the site before.

Basically I’m trying to create a system when the game only let you equip one weapon type. (You will be able to pick your weapon type but after that you’re stuck with it) I did try making a weapon switch an int to 1 when equipped that stops your weapon just being unequipped again, but I ran into problems with putting another weapon into the off hand, and I can’t think of a way around this. (I did try to set up some kind of righthandweapon int and lefthandweapon int but that was tricky on the same weapon)

Again, sorry if I’m going about this wrong and thank you for the help.

Alexandra.

Hi new person. :slight_smile: You are in the correct place.

In theory, this should be as simple as marking which baseitemtypes are (or aren’t) usable for this player, and automatically unequipping prohibited baseitemtypes.

object oItem = GetPCItemLastEquipped();
    object oPC   = GetPCItemLastEquippedBy();

// Unequip check for prohibited baseitemtypes:
    int nBaseItemType = GetBaseItemType(oItem);
    if (GetLocalInt(oPC, "PROHIBIT_BASEITEMTYPE_"+IntToString(nBaseItemType)))
        {
        AssignCommand(oPC, ClearAllActions());
        AssignCommand(oPC, ActionWait(0.3));
        AssignCommand(oPC, ActionDoCommand(SendMessageToPC(oPC, "You can't equip "+GetName(oItem)+".")));
        AssignCommand(oPC, ActionUnequipItem(oItem));
        AssignCommand(oPC, ActionDoCommand(SetCommandable(TRUE, oPC)));
        DelayCommand(0.01, SetCommandable(FALSE, oPC));
        }

Combine that with flagging items not-allowed-to-equip by baseitemtype:

SetLocalInt(oPC, "PROHIBIT_BASEITEMTYPE_"+IntToString(BASE_ITEM_RAPIER), TRUE);

You could switch it around, and prohibit equipping anything for which a manual exception isn’t made, too.