Mod Merging

So this is my first time posting here, I’ve never used this site before but I was recommended here from the Steam community. I’m trying to make a mod for my own personal project - I like doing stuff like this to take my mind off of stuff. What I’m trying to do though, is merge CEP and Project Q - I want the expanded tilesets, additional creatures and races and placeables of CEP, but I also want the enhanced vanilla models and better armour pieces offered by Project Q. Is there any existing patch between the two? I have no experience with this, and I tried to merge them together - it worked partially, I have some of the Project Q placeables and a few of the creatures working alongside CEP assets, but I feel like I’m going to mess something up if I keep going down this road of just merging all the haks together. Any suggestions?

https://neverwintervault.org/article/tutorial/combining-hak-packs

I tried following that tutorial, but it doesn’t make sense, so if someone could break that down into steps an idiot could follow I’d greatly appreciate it.

The problem with trying to combine CEP and PQ is that they are incompatible. Among the things that a hak merge does is to identify the resources and entries in various 2DA files (e.g. placeables, appearance, etc.) and create versions that include the resources from both haks to be merged. But CEP and Q often (and obviously, by design) step on each others’ resource names and 2DA entries. It is an extremely laborious task to go through every one of their resource files, deciding which blocks of entries to move in the cases where they conflict, finding a free block to move them to, and updating all of the associated resources to point to the new entries.