Perception Range

This is my first time posting on this forum. Thanks so much to everyone for all your work here on this forum and in the vault.

I’m sure this has come up before, but I can’t find the answer anywhere. For NWNEE, I’m building my first adventure module and learning as I go. In an area, I set some of the monsters’ range to “Long.” Even though it works initially, if I save and reload, it keeps resetting to what seems like the default range. I think it has something to do with the .2da files, but I am a bit clueless in that department as of yet.

I’m only working with the current vanilla toolset and haven’t tried out various hakpaks and so on yet. I’m wondering if anyone can recommend a quick and seamless work around for this. Like is there a different .2da file I can download somewhere? Or is this bug fixed in any of the overhauls by any chance?

Or is there even a way to script a monster’s range? I can’t seem to find a function for that.

If scripting is the way to go, I imagine I can try some kind of heartbeat script, but if I want to keep a lot of monsters on “Long,” that might affect performance I imagine. Or maybe I can try an OnEnter script for that area, but that could get messy because it might have to keep tabs on the current state of the monsters.

Or maybe OnSpawn could work somehow? Or could it be that I should spawn monsters in each time using triggers instead of just placing them on the map?

Based on a Google search, it appears that this was discussed before on Bioware’s site. Alas, the link doesn’t work anymore.

I haven’t heard of that bug before. If you’re using EE, you can made a demo mod and submit a ticket to Beamdog. Something simple, like approaching a creature whose OnPerception script sends a message. If it’s bugged, you should see the message at different distances before and after save/load.