[Solved] How to check if a placeable is in use in a module

Hello all.

I want to check, if the model of a placeable, which is located in a hak is in use within a module (to toss out unneeded stuff).

The reference to the model is hidden in the module’s .git files as a two (four?) byte number. This number represents the line number in the placeables.2da. So a simple search for this number will probably give unrelieable results.

What I need is a report which lists all the placeables (Name, Tag) together with this number (which is called “Apperance” in NWN-Explorer).

How can such a report be generated? Is there a tool, which does the trick? Moneo maybe? (I’m no expert for moneo scripting).

Here’s a moneo script which does something very similar:

# Find all placeables which are useable. Report description for manual checking.

%mod = 'c:\NeverwinterNights\nwn\modules\Dark Energy.mod' or die;

for (%mod['*.git']) 
  {
    $area = substr($_, 0, -4);
	%are = %mod[$area + '.are'];
    $areaname = /Name;
    close (%are);	    
	for (/{'Placeable List'}) 
	  {
        if (/~/Useable > 0)
		{print $area, ";", $areaname, ";", /~/LocName, ";", /~/Tag, ";", /~/Description, ";", "\n";}
      }  
  }

In your case, the print line will be unconditional, and you will want to print the field Appearance.

The latter is UINT32, which you don’t need to know for this particular script.

You can change the delimiter in the output from “;” to “,” if you want a .csv file.

No doubt you’ll cross-reference the output to placeables.2da in a spreadsheet? (moneo isn’t up to doing joins AFAIK).

I guess there might also be placeable templates that you’ve set up for future use (or CreateObject scripts), in which case you need a second loop over *.utp. I can provide an example if you need it.

These days, it can also be done in nwscript, I think.

According to the Lexicon, GetAppearanceType() returns the line number in placeables.2da for placeables.